The Sound of Music (1965)

       This movie is based on the memoir of Maria von Trapp “The Story of the Trapp Family singers” published in 1949. It is about a young novice who is sent to be the governess of seven children whose parent was the submarine Captain Georg von Trapp. He had lost his wife and had been struggling with numerous governesses who always ended up running away from the house because of the children’s naughtiness. At first when Maria is introduced into their lives they try to scare her off as they did to the other governesses, but eventually they start to like her. She falls in love with Captain von Trapp and does other things which I will not spoil for you. 

      The movie was a great success in its time. It won four Oscars. 

      I have watched this movie many times. I used to watch it on tape in my grandparents house. It was in English and those were times where I did not know a thing about other language different from Spanish, so I didn’t understand a thing in the movie, I just sang the songs as I heard them. As I grew up and learnt English I understood what it was about and I did like it. I still like it. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

